Monday, October 8, 2012

Announcing Nation's First State Religious Freedom Caucuses





Media Contact:
Sarah Mueller,, 515-422-9297


Broad Array of Leaders in Nine State Legislatures Form
Nation's First State Religious Freedom Caucuses

WHO: On behalf of a bipartisan group of over 120 legislators representing states in all geographic regions, prominent legislative leaders in nine U.S. states will announce the formation of the nation's first state religious freedom caucuses. Religious freedom caucuses are being announced in Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Kansas, Missouri, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, and Tennessee. This announcement is the first in a series and part of a national plan to form religious freedom caucuses in all 50 state legislatures by the end of 2013.

WHAT: In coordination with the Ethics and Public Policy Center's American Religious Freedom Program (ARFP), nine participating caucus states will host a national media conference call announcing the state-caucus kick-off.

The call will feature:
Brian W. Walsh and Tim Schultz, ARFP
Rep. Stephen (Steve) Precourt, Florida House of Representatives
Rep. John J. DeBerry, Jr., Tennessee House of Representatives
Rep. Debbie Lesko, Arizona House of Representatives

Additional legislators from each state caucus will be available to take media questions.

WHEN: Tuesday, October 9, 2012
11:00 a.m. Eastern Time (10 a.m. CT / 9 a.m. MT / 8 a.m. PT)

WHERE: Dial-in Number: (855) 374-1005; Conference ID Number: 39156014

CONTACT: To schedule interviews with a state member, please contact:

Sarah Mueller

Brooke Cook


EPPC's American Religious Freedom Program is devoted to protecting and strengthening Americans' God-given and constitutional religious freedoms. The program brings together individuals and organizations of all religious faiths, regardless of ideological or political affiliation. ARFP is fighting the trend to delegitimize religious expression in public life, defending Americans' ability to live out their religious beliefs beyond the walls of their houses of worship. For more information, visit and or

No comments:

Post a Comment